The Cuilfail Hotel

Nestling at the foot of rolling hills, Cuilfail Hotel is a splendid former drovers inn and one of the oldest purpose built hotels on the west coast. The hotel was originally built as a drovers’ inn, however the majority of the hotel was built during the Victorian era and many features of that period have been preserved. The name Cuilfail (pronounced “cool-fail”) in Gaelic appropriately means “Sheltered Corner”.

The main part of the hotel was built in the 1883, the drovers inn is much older and part of it is now our cosy and unique bar. The hotel was built to provide for the fishing in the many hill lochs of the area.

For the owners Yvonne and Simon Fletcher, good home made Scottish food using local ingredients wherever possible is very important, Chef's own Steak & Ale Pie, made with prime Scotch Beef is always on the Menu.


Cosy Bar
Cuilfail Hotel country setting